Congregational Committees have at least one member elected directly by the members of the Congregation and at least one appointed by the Board. Standing Congregational Committees include Nominations, Investment, and Finance. Only members of the Congregation may serve on Congregational Committees. Except for the Finance Committee, the Chairs of Congregational Committees are elected by and from the membership of the committee through simple majority vote.  Information from the Bylaws establishing each committee and additional charges from the Board are listed below.

Nominations Committee – information from the Bylaws (section 3.2.1)

The Nominations Committee shall consist of seven members: two ex-officio without vote: Past President of the Church and President Elect; a representative provided by the Connections/Membership Committee or its equivalent, one appointed by the Board, and three elected by the Congregation in the election following the April Congregational meeting. The Board-appointed and Congregationally-elected members shall have staggered two-year terms. The Nominations Committee shall present slates of candidates to the annual meeting for all appropriate positions on the Board of Trustees and Congregational Committees, seek additional nominations from the floor, and forthwith conduct the election by means of a mailed ballot to be returned within 14 days of the meeting. The Committee shall also nominate candidates for election as delegates to the Unitarian Universalist General Assembly and MidAmerica Region, such election to be held in accordance with Article 6 of the By-Laws.

Nominations Committee Charge approved by the Board on 4/26/17:

The charge of the Committee is to develop slates of candidates for the Regional Assembly delegation (historically presented and voted upon at the January Congregational Meeting), the UUA General Assembly delegation (in recent history, presented in January), the Board (April), and the Congregational Committees (April).  Committee members must know or inquire about members of the congregation to encourage candidates to consider leadership positions. They will also explore opportunities for formal leadership development within the church.

Investment Committee – information from the Bylaws (section 3.2.2)

The Investment Committee shall consist of five members of the Church: one appointed by the Board of Trustees for a one-year term and four elected by the Congregation at the annual meeting for staggered two-year terms. The Investment Committee shall secure the maximum return from endowment funds in accordance with prudent investment policies approved by the Board. The Investment Committee shall manage other Church funds as requested by the Board. Three members of the Investment Committee must approve any investment or re-investment of endowment funds. The Committee shall authorize the release of funds in accordance with the Constitution and the expenditure policies approved by the Board of Trustees. The Committee shall meet at least once a quarter or more often as needed.

Investment Committee Description from the Board Manual:

The Investment Committee was formed to prudently manage church investments, especially the Endowment Fund, so as to preserve principal, diversify risk, maximize return, and ensure that in an emergency a portion of the invested funds can be converted to cash without appreciable loss.  All investment decisions require affirmation by a majority of the Committee, and are the sole responsibility of the Committee.  The Investment Committee determines the amount of earnings returned to the congregation, to be used for non-recurring expenses (one-time expenses, not operating funds).  The Spendable Interest from the Endowment funds specified annually by the Investment Committee are held in a Restricted Fund, and expenses are authorized by the Board of Trustees, usually after recommendation by the Finance Committee.  The church Treasurer, who shall be bonded, shall maintain and secure all documents relative to investments and liquid assets.  The Investment Committee shall designate three signatories from among its members.  Purchases and sales of investments shall require the signatures of two of the three.

Finance Committee – information from the Bylaws (section 3.2.3)

The Finance Committee shall oversee the financial activities of the Church, is responsible for drafting a budget for submission to the Board of Trustees for consideration at a meeting of the Congregation, and manages the budget. The Committee shall consist of the Vice President for Finance and one other Board member (at least one of these two must be a Finance-designated Board member), the Treasurer, the Financial Secretary, the Chair of Investment Committee, and two additional persons to be appointed by the Board from among (non-Board member) nominees – one of these shall be recommended by Program Council and shall serve as Finance liaison to the Program Council.